miss lily is special

06Sep08

When I was young I had visions of working at Sea World (afraid of killer whales) and also being a vet (can’t stand the sight of surgeries) and those dreams didn’t pan out. But the one dream that continues to stay with me is my love for animals.

I recently came across an abandoned cat in our neighborhood. There are quite a few roaming around but

Lily needs a home

Lily needs a home

this cat was different because she was so friendly. She was pregnant so she needed some love and more importantly food and water. My neighbors and I have been taking care of her and keeping an eye on her. Wednesday after work, she started going into labor. She had built this elaborate house out of a sea grass bush and there she was, curled up and ready to have babies.

Later that night we spotted 2 kittens, but we knew that there were 4 from x-rays taken at the vet the Saturday before. The next morning she hadn’t had the other 2 kittens, or did she? We weren’t sure so I took her into the vet.

Sure enough an hour later the x-ray showed that she still had the other two. So we agreed to a very expensive surgery. Later that night I was able to pick up the mom cat, aka Lily, and her 4 new babies. She’s doing well and now inside living in my sunroom temporarily. She’s also been spayed, so I’m relieved that she will not go through having another litter of kittens again.

Miss Lily and her baby kittens are looking for great homes!

Miss Lily and her baby kittens are looking for great homes!

I’ve realized that my love for animals will always be with me. And I have realized that I can’t save all the stray cats and dogs in the world, but by helping Lily and her babies, she’ll find a great home and live lifewith someone that will look after her, as she so deserves.

She’s doing well and taking great care of her babies. If you’re interested in one of the kittens and/or miss Lily, please let me know. They will be ready to go to their forever homes in about 6 to 8 weeks.

As part of this continuing effort to give back to animals through our business, Pinstripe Paws, we plan to donate a portion of our proceeds to local animal shelters. Stay tuned for some exciting news we’ll announce next week.

2 Responses to “miss lily is special”

  1. 1 Ann Marie

    You are so amazing and generous. Thanks for being such an awesome animal caregiver! I wish I could take in more kittens to help out.

  2. 2 Meisha

    That is so wonderful! Adorable pics and all!


Leave a Reply

